SCHOLARS' MINE - Digitization Services
Digital Services works with campus departments, alumni, faculty, staff, students, and the local community to provide access to the cultural and historical resources of the Missouri University of Science and Technology and surrounding community through ongoing development, maintenance, and preservation of online digital collections and resources.
Our Services
We will digitize materials that meet our mission statement criteria for free. We will also digitize other materials for a a nominal fee.
Available services include:
- Material preparation including document debinding, sorting and classification
- Digitization of text, images, audio and video
- PDF conversion including OCR, indexing, table of contents and file compression
- Digital publishing
- Photographic prints of item in our collection where copyright allows
- Metadata creation
The Library is always interested in potential materials or collections for digitized. All suggestions are welcomed via this form. Selections of materials or collections to digitize will be made in accordance with or Digital Collection Development Policy and will depend on the availability of resources and funding.
Nominate Materials for Digitization
Fees
This fee structure is for materials not meeting our mission statement criteria. For other materials discounted services are available for campus units, students, faculty, alumni and other not for profit institutions. All rates are negotiable depending on circumstance and project size .
| Document Processing | |
| Material Preperation | |
| Physical preperation of bound materials including debinding if necessary. (1 hour minimum) | $8.00/hour |
| Rebinding | $10.00/per item |
| Other physical preperation | $10.00/hour |
| Scanning to TIFF Format (50 pages or Less) | |
| In-house | |
| Bitonall (up to 8.5 x 11) | $0.12/page |
| Grayscale (up to 8.5 x 11) | $0.20/page |
| Color (up to 8.5 x 11) | $0.30/page |
| Maps/Blueprints and other large format items | $0.02/square inch |
| Jobs over 50 pages | Negotiable |
| Outsourced | |
| Outsourced scanning will be billed on a cost recovery basis | 1.3% of cost |
| PDF Conversion | |
| OCR and file size optimization only (50 pages or less) | $0.03/page |
| Construction of Table of Contents, security and other extended services | $14.00/hour |
| Jobs over 50 pages | Negotiable |
| Photographic Prints | |
| Reproduction of images in our collection | |
| Up to 5 x 7 | $1.00/image |
| 8 x 10 | $1.50/image |
| Oversized images (Greater then 8 x 10) | $0.02/square inch |
| Audio and Video | |
| Digitization | $14.00/hour |
| Digital Publishing | Negotiable |
| Metadata Creation (Various formats available) | |
| Basic metadata transcription to XML (citation information with user provided keywords) | $16.00/hour |
| Advanced metadata transcription to XML (basic plus LCSH, or other subject thesauri ot taxonomies) | $20,00/hour |
| CD with copies of digital files | $5.00 |
Our Collections
Digitized CollectionsCurtis Laws Wilson Library
|
|
The Rollamo is the Missouri University of Science and Technology's Yearbook. The intent of the the Rollamo is to preserve the events of each academic year and to convey why each year is important and unique. It encompasses every facet of life at Missouri S&T: academics, activities, organizations, sports, and student life beyond the university and is published each summer for distribution in the fall.