Check with your professor/advisor to find out which citation style is preferred for your research. Commonly-used styles include:
When citing your research:
Some databases can generate citations for users after they select a preferred citation style. If you are using one of these databases, be aware that they do not always produce correctly formatted citations. You will have to double-check the citations to make sure they are formatted appropriately.
Manage your PDFs, organize citations, and generate bibliographies using EndNote, available for free through a UM system license. For more information and download instructions, take a look at our EndNote guide.
These sites generate citations based on information users provide about their sources. Remember that the citations will only be as good as the information entered, so make sure to double-check your work.
Creates citations in the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Create an account (registration is free) to download a list of citations as a Word document or save your bibliography.
Generates citations in the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. This site includes some source types that BibMe does not, including conference papers.
Purdue's Online Writing Lab provides a guide to using the APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles. It includes examples of citations as well as sample papers.
Online version of the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister; it includes examples of the APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles.
Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed.
Reference Desk LB2369 .U6
Style manual developed by the University of Chicago Press
The style manual for IEEE publications; information about the citation style starts on page 5. See also the IEEE Citation Reference and Preparation of Papers for IEEE Transactions and Journals for more examples of this citation style.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 9th ed.
Reference LB2369 .G53 2009
Official style manual of the Modern Language Association
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Official manual for the APA citation style
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed.
Reference T11 .S386 2006
Style manual for the Council of Science Editors