This is the "Databases (Articles and More)" page of the "English and Technical Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English and Technical Communication  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mst.edu/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases (Articles and More) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Summon

Summon simultaneously searches online journals, databases, and the library catalog to find articles, books, and more. It does not cover all library resources, so searching individual databases may also be necessary.

Keyword Search

Oxford English Dictionary

Learn the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 English words, past and present

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a searchable database of documentary films on many different topics.

Literature in English

Use this database to find articles from journals and other publications. Depending on your research topic, other library resources may be helpful. Please contact a librarian at library@mst.edu for more information.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Provides information about journals, books, dissertations, and collections of essays in the fields of English literature and film criticism; has limited full text content
  • International Medieval Bibliography
    Includes information about journal articles covering literature in the period 300-1500; no full text is provided

Technical Communication

In additon to these databases, other library databases may be helpful for certain topics. For help with your research, please contact a librarian.

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Provides information about journal articles relating to all aspects of communications, including technical communication, with a large amount of full text content
  • Compendex
    Covers engineering and technical literature worldwide, including conference proceedings for the Society for Technical Communication; no full text is included
  • ABI/inform
    Includes information from many business-related publications that may be of interest to researchers in technical communication;
  • Business Source Premier
    Another business database with lots of full text articles; has a lot of overlap with ABI/Inform but also unique content
  • IEEE Xplore
    Provides full text access to conferences and transactions on professional communication

Other Recommended Databases

These databases are full text collections of scholarly journals covering many subjects, including English literature and technical communication.

  • JSTOR
    A scholarly journal archive containing full text article content back to the early twentieth century in some cases; does not include the most recent years for many of the journals
  • Project Muse
    Provides full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journals; provides access to the more recent issues of some titles archived in JSTOR
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip