Last Updated: Feb 12, 2015
Summon allows you to search many sources (online journals, databases, and the library catalog) to find articles, books, and more with a single search. Because it does not cover all of the library's resources, searching individual databases may be necessary for a more complete search.
Films on Demand is a searchable database of documentary films on many different topics.
Use these databases to find articles from journals and other publications. These databases focus on secondary sources. Depending on your research topic, other library databases may be helpful. Please contact a librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
- America: History & Life
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present; provides limited full text content
- Historical Abstracts
Covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding material on the United States and Canada; provides limited full text content
- International Medieval Bibliography
A multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East covering the period 300-1500
- PAIS International
Includes material on topics relating to politics and public policy, covering articles, books, and government documents
Both these databases allow users to see how often an article or other item has been cited in the literature and where it has been cited.
Allows users to see how often and where materials have been cited, helping the researcher to find additional items
- Web of Science
Allows users to find citing materials; in spite of the name, includes coverage of the humanities and social sciences
These databases are collections of journals covering many subjects, including history and poltical science.
A scholarly journal archive containing full text article content back to the early twentieth century for some publications; does not include the most recent years for many of the journals
- Project Muse
Provides full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journals; includes access to the more recent issues of some titles archived in JSTOR
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database providing information about articles in a variety of publications, many of which are available in full text