Core Databases
- Scopus
*If you have issues with Scopus and are using Google Chrome, clear your cookies or switch to another browser. Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of research literature in the sciences, engineering, and social sciences. It is Elsevier's counterpart to Clarivate's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a larger number of journals and proceedings.
- MEDLINEMEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts for the biological and physical sciences as they relate to medicine. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, coverage begins in 1966.
- SciFinder-n
*CAS requires users to create an individual account using an @mst.edu email address in order to use this database.* SciFinder-n is a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. Systematic coverage begins in 1907, but it includes some older sources.
- PubMedPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- bioRxiv.orgPreprint server for biology
Video Resources
- JoVE Journal - Biology
JoVE Biology is a peer-reviewed journal that covers techniques and experimental approaches in the fields of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology.
- JoVE Lab Manual - Biology
Curriculum-focused video resources for commonly taught introductory labs with step-by-step instructions
- JoVE Science Education - Basic Biology
A video library with visual demonstrations of research protocols and concepts related to basic experiments in biology
- JoVE Science Education - Advanced Biology
A library of videos illustrating research methods, concept application, and real-world examples in advanced biology
Books, Articles, and More
Search many sources (online journals, databases, and the library collection) to discover articles, books, and more. Because it does not cover all of the library's resources, searching individual databases may be necessary for a more complete search.
Research Librarian
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060