Books
- Daily Life in the United States, 1920-1939Looks at the daily lives of Americans in these decades.
- Daily Life in Jazz Age AmericaReveals the everyday actions of individuals during the 1920s
- The 1920sShows the many ways the decade altered America, its people, and its future. ONLY GOOGLE BOOKS PREVIEW ONLINE; PRINT COPY AT THE LIBRARY
- American Food by the DecadesA history of food trends in the United States during the 20th century; each chapter covers one decade, discussing the foods, restaurants, grocery stores, and cooking trends of the time
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through American HistoryProvides an overview of the progression from colonial cabins to present-day lofts, discussing influences of geography, urban and rural development, demographics, politics, and the national and global economy on the American home
- American DecadesA set of books in which each volume covers the all the social aspects of a 10-year period in American history (beginning in 1900); use the drop-down next to "Choose a volume" to select the book for the decade you are researching
- American Decades, Primary SourcesEach volume in this set provides primary source material for a 10-year period in American history (beginning in 1900) ; use the drop-down next to "Choose a volume" on the Table of Contents page to select the book for the decade you are researching
- Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th and 21st Century AmericaCovers the popular culture of the 20th century, organized by decade; use the drop-down next to "Choose a volume" to select the decade you are researching
- The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2014Provides prices for thousands of items, as well as income information for some professions
Recommended Databases
Use the databases below to find historical newspaper and magazines. Articles and advertisements can help you learn what people knew and how they lived in the past. Please contact the subject librarian or email library@mst.edu for assistance in using these databases.
- NewspaperARCHIVE
NewspaperARCHIVE contains searchable newspaper articles dating as far back as the 1700s from many US states, including Missouri
- New York Times, Historical (1851-2020)
Full text coverage of the entire New York Times newspaper from 1851-2020
- Chicago Defender, Historical (1910-1975)Full text coverage of the entire Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975
Books, Articles, and More
Search many sources (online journals, databases, and the library collection) to discover articles, books, and more. Because it does not cover all of the library's resources, searching individual databases may be necessary for a more complete search.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a searchable database of documentary films on many different topics, including US history. Do a search on the year you are interested in to see films and film clips highlighting that year, including primary sources like newsreels and archival video.
