Library Logo
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409
Contact Us
The text contained in the guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 United States License.
The Gold Men Images used in this guide are licensed for use from shutterstock and are protected by U.S. Copyright. They may not be used or downloaded with out permission.
The photo of the guide author is protected by U.S. Copyright and may not be used or downloaded without permission.
Disclaimer
Nothing on this guide is to be construed as legal advice. These pages are intended to provide information and guidance in the application of copyright law and to expand on the University of Missouri System Collected Rules and Regulations.
Introduction
Additional Resources
This page lists additional resources containing depth information about the topics discussed in the guide.
Best Practices
Librarians, professionals and legal educators are developing new codes of best practice to guide user communities in the use of copyrighted works and digital content. As new best practices become available, they will appear on this page.
Please note: UM System Counsel does not endorse any of these best practices, however we wish to bring them to your attention as forward-thinking documents applying copyright in educational settings.
- Best Practice Guidelines for Digital Collections
Office of Digital Collections and Research
University of Maryland - Code of Best Practice for Online Video
Center for Social Media
- Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries
ARL Sponsor. Note to Missouri S&T community: The University of Missouri System Legal Counsel does not feel comfrotable with these progressive standards at this time based on current law in our Circuit Court. Relying on the ARL Best Practices may not be legally defensible.
- Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education
Center for Social Media
- Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Poetry
Facilitated by Patricia Aufderheide, director of the Center for Social Media; Katharine Coles, director of the Harriet Monroe Poetry Institute at the Poetry Foundation; Peter Jaszi, Professor of Law in the Washington College of Law at American University; and Jennifer Urban, Professor of Law at the University of California Berkeley.
- Code of Best Practice in Fair Use for Scholarly Research in Communication
The International Communication Association published a Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Scholarly Research in Communication in June 2010 after review by a legal advisory board. Facilitated by Patricia Aufderheide, Center for Social Media, School of Communication, and Peter Jaszi, Program on Information Justice and Intellectual Property, Washington College of Law, American University.
- Code of Best Practice in Fair Use for The Visual Arts
This Code of Best Practices provides visual-arts professionals with a set of principles addressing best practices in the fair use of copyrighted materials. It describes how fair use can be invoked and implemented when using copyrighted materials in scholarship, teaching, museums, archives, and in the creation of art.
- Documentary Filmmakers' Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use
Documentary filmmakers have created, through their professional associations, a statement of fair and reasonable approaches to fair use. This statement was a joint effort between the Association of Independent Video and Filmmakers, Independent Feature Project, International Documentary Association, National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture, and Women in Film & Video. This was done in consultation with the Center for Social Media in the School of Communication at American University and the Program on Intellectual Property and the Public Interest in the Washington College of Law at American University
- Society for Cinema and Media Studies' Statement of Fair Use Best Practices for Media Studies Publishing
Created by the Society for Cinema and Media Studies to serve scholars in film and media studies.
- Society for Media Studies in Teaching for Film and Media Educators
Center for Social Media
- Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use of Dance Related Materials
Dance Heritage Coalition
Books in the Library
Copyright and Fair Use: Compliance Guidelines for Faculty by Call Number: Reserve OnlyPublication Date: 2012
Copyright Clarity by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 141298159XPublication Date: 2010-04-07
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by Call Number: KF2995 .C74 2005ISBN: 0838910920Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Copyright Plain and Simple by Call Number: KF2995 .B47 2001 OnlineISBN: 1564145123Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Digital Disconnect by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 1595588671Publication Date: 2013-03-05- Digital Millennium Copyright Act section 104 report : hearing before the Subcommittee on Courts by Call Number: Y 4.J 89/1:107/52Publication Date: 2002
Fair Use, Free Use, and Use by Permission: How to Handle Copyrights in All Media by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 1581154321Publication Date: 2005-11-01- Fair use : its effects on consumers and industry : hearing before the Subcommittee on Commerce, Trade, and Consumer Protection by Call Number: Y 4.C 73/8:109-78Publication Date: 2005Washington : U.S. G.P.O.
The Public Domain: Enclosing the Commons of the Mind by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 0300158343Publication Date: 2010-01-26
Reclaiming Fair Use: How to Put Balance Back in Copyright by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 0226032280Publication Date: 2011-08-15
Technology and Copyright Law by Call Number: KF3030.1 .B533 2007ISBN: 1555705707Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Digital Millennium Copyright Act Resources
External Resources
- ARL: Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998A list of resources, testimonials and analyses surrounding the DMCA compiled by the Association of Research Libraries (ARL).
- The Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998Copyright Law of the United States of America and Related Laws Contained in Title 17 of the United States Code. Circular 92
- Section 1201 Rulemaking: Fifth Triennial Proceeding to Determine Exemptions to the Prohibition on CircumventionA PDF document on the summary of the DMCA by the US Copyright Office.
Fair Use Resources
External Resources
- Baruch College's Interactive Guide to Using Copyrighted MediaBaruch College/The City University of New York
A free interactive guide to help faculty determine the appropriate copyright guidelines they must follow to use different types of copyright protected media in their courses. - Critical CommonsResources, information and tools for scholars, educators and content creators. Critical Commons is a non-profit advocacy coalition.
- Fair Use EvaluatorHelps users collect, organize, and document the information they may need to support a fair use claim, and provides a time-stamped PDF document for the users’ records. Developed by the American Library Association, Office for Information Technology Policy.
General Copyright Resources
Other University Resources
External Resources
- Copyright.govThe U.S. Copyright Office aims to "promote creativity by administering and sustaining an effective national copyright system."
- The Campus Guide to Copyright ComplianceDesigned for academic institutions, this guide helps answer questions ranging from basic copyright law to the more complex topics of ILL and e-reserves.
- Copyright & Fair Use (Stanford University Libraries)An extensive collection of copyright resources, tools, commentary and primary materials.
- Copyright Resources for Schools and LibrariesA collection of annotated links on copyright from the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.
- Copyright AdvisoryA comprehensive copyright resource from Columbia's Copyright Advisory Office.
Linking to Material in a Library Database
Known as durable links, persistent links, permalinks, stable links.
One of the best ways to avoid copyright problems is to link to articles, e-book chapters or e-books in the library licensed resources. The Library's many resources work a little differently, so contact your subject specialist for more information about creating linked items.
The Library proxy links through its server to:
create access from off-campus
prevent unauthorized use of licensed resources
You can either paste the hyperlink into your Blackboard readings list or embed the hyperlink into your citation for a cleaner presentation. The link must have the Proxy Server segment (http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=) as a prefix in the URL in order to give users off-campus access. For example: http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=47776279&site=ehost-live
copies can also be made directly from some databases. These copies may be used for:
- in-class handouts, or
- electronic copies behind password barrier or in coursepacks.
The table below indicates what activities are allowed with each database.
| Publisher/Database | Print Course Packs |
E-reserves | E-links |
| ABI/Inform (Proquest) | No | No | No |
| Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) | No | Yes | Yes |
| ACM | Yes | No | Yes |
| AIAA | No | No | No |
| American Accociation for Cancer Research | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| American Society for Microbiology | Yes | No | Yes |
| American Chemical Society? | Yes | No | No |
| American Insitute of Physics | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| American Physical Society | No | No | No |
| American statistical association | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Annual Reviews | No | Yes | Yes |
| ASCE | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| ASME | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| ASTM | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| BioOne | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Business Source Premier (EBSCO) | No | Yes | Yes |
| Ebrary | No | No | Yes |
| Elsevier ScienceDirect (publisher) | Yes | No | Yes |
| GeoScienceWorld | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| IEEE | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| IOP (Insititue of Physics) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| JAMA | No | Yes | Yes |
| JSTOR | No | Yes | Yes |
| Knovel | No | No | Yes |
| LexisNexis | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| LondonTimes Historical archives | No | No | No |
| Nature Publishing | Yes | No | Yes |
| OneMine | No | Yes | Yes |
| OnePetro | Yes | No | No |
| Oxford University Press | No | No | Yes |
| PsycArticles/PsycInfo | No | Yes | Yes |
| SAE | No | No | Yes |
| SIAM | No | Yes | Yes |
| Springer (publisher) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Wiley (publisher) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Here are some examples of how to create links:
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Article: Beaudouin-Lafon, Michel. "Viewpoint Open Access to Scientific Publications." Communications of the ACM 53.2 (2010): 32-34. Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. Web. 9 Mar. 2010.
Locate the full text article, move to abstract view.
On the right side, click on "Permalink."
Cut and paste the link into your Blackboard site. The link will look like this:
http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=47776279&site=ehost-live
ebrary e-book or chapter
Book: McConnell, Ben and Jackie Huba. Citizen Marketers: When People are the Message. Chicago: Kaplan Publishing, 2007.
ebrary is different from other databases because a book can be viewed in "Quick View" mode or it can be read using the ebrary reader (a plug-in) which offers more features. You can copy the link for a book while in Quick View mode, but to create a chapter link, you need to be in the ebrary reader.
To create a link to an e-book from Quick View, go to the ebook of choice; from first screen copy the URL from browser and paste it in Blackboard. The link must have the Proxy Server segment (http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=) in the URL in order to give users off-campus access. The link should look like this:
http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umr/docDetail.action?docID=10155078&p00=citizen%20marketers%3A%20when%20people%20message
To create a link to an e-book chapter, first move into the ebrary reader. Go to the chapter of choice; next use the Info Tools button, then click on "Copy Bookmark." Paste the link into your Blackboard site or embed it into your citation. The link must have the Proxy Server segment (http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=) in the URL in order to give users off-campus access. The link should look like this; notice the page number at the end of the URL:
http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umr/Doc?id=10155078&ppg=66
This e-book is also listed in the MERLIN catalog. From the MERLIN record, right click on the hot link under “Missouri S&T Online Access via Ebrary Academic Complete.” Paste the URL into your Blackboard site. The persistent link will look like this and can be embedded in your citation as shown above. http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umr/Top?id=10155078
EBSCO - see Academic Search Premier
JSTOR
Mark Lubell, Sammy Zahran and Arnold Vedlitz. "Collective Action and Citizen Responses to Global Warming." Political Behavior , Vol. 29, No. 3 (Sep., 2007), pp. 391-413
Locate the article; copy the stable URL that appears below the Publication Title. Cut and past the URL into your Blackboard site or embed it into your citation. The link must have the Proxy Server segment (http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=) in the URL in order to give users off-campus access. The link will look like this: http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/4500252
Proquest Databases
Mcconnell, M. (2013, Mar 22). The constitution and same-sex marriage. Wall Street Journal.
Click the tab Abstract/Details. Scroll down to Indexing (details); copy the link found under "Document URL." Cut and paste the URL into your Blackboard site or embed it into your citation. The link will look like this:
http://libproxy.mst.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1318675173?accountid=14594
Films on Demand
CyberEthics (Films on Demand)
Go to the database record for your film. Scroll to the bottom and copy the URL appearing in the box labeled "Title URL." Cut and paste the URL into your Blackboard site or embed it into your citation. The link will look like this:
http://libproxy.mst.edu:2048/login?url=http://digital.films.com.libproxy.mst.edu/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=15551&xtid=38816
Safari Books Online
Bergeron, Bryan. Business Expectations: Are You Using Technology to its Fullest? NY: John Wiley & Sons, 2002.
Go to book view or chapter view. Copy the URL from the browser. Cut and paste the link into your Blackboard site or embed into your citation. The link must have the Proxy Server segment (http://libproxy.mst.edu/login?url=) in the URL in order to give users off-campus access. The link will look like this: http://libproxy.mst.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/book/management/9780471208341
Public Domain Resources
External Resources
- Library Digitization Projects and Copyright - Part I - Introduction and OverviewBy Mary Minow, Published on June 27, 2002
LLRX.com - Public Domain ResourcesA resource list from the University of California
- Public Domain ResourcesA list of public-domain materials available via the Internet provided by Columbia University Libraries
- The Public Domain ReviewA Project of the Open Knowledge Foundation
Tools to Locate Public Domain Works
Clip Art
- Open Clipart LibraryCollections of public domain clipart
- Public Domain ClipartClipart in the public domain
- WPClipartCollection of artwork for schoolkids and others that is free of copyright concerns
Images
- Flickr CCCreative commons photos
- Photo8Thousands of images that are in the public domain
- The World Images Kiosk hosted by San Jose State UniversityOffers more than 75,000 images that teachers and students can use in their academic projects. All of the images can be used under a Creative Commons license that requires you to give proper attribution when necessary
- WylioAn image search engine designed to help you quickly find, cite, and use Creative Commons licensed images
- 85 Free Stock Photo Resources – How to Use ThemThis is a commercial page which provides an index to other commercial pages with some open access photography
Mixed Media
- Wikimedia CommonsA media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed media content (images, sound, and video clips
- William Vann's EduPic Graphical ResourceProvides free photographs and drawings for teachers and students to use in their classrooms
Sound
- freesoundFreesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
- SoundBible.comSoundBible.com offers thousands of free sound effects, sound clips, and straight up sounds. SoundBible.com is a great source for copyright free sounds.
TEACH Act Resources
External Resources
- Distance Education and the TEACH ActThe American Library Association
- Scholarly Communications @ DukeA Blog operated by Kevin Smith, Duke University's Scholarly Communications Officer.
- TEACH Act ToolkitPeggy E. Hoon, North Carolina State University
- Technology, Education, and Copyright Harmonization (TEACH) ActAssociation of Research Libraries
Information and Resources - The TEACH Act and some Frequently Asked QuestionsThe American Library Association
- The TEACH Act New Roles, Rules and Responsibilities for Academic InstitutionsCopyright Clearance Center
Other Tutorials for the Classroom
These videos are available using Creative Commons or similar licensing and may be shown in the classroom.
- Manage Your CopyrightsColumbia University Libraries Center for Digital Research and Scholarship (5 min)
These videos are from Films on Demand, a service licensed to C. L. Wilson Library. The content is appropriate for both faculty and students. These may be shown (streamed) in classrooms. These selections are only available to Missouri S&T users.
- CyberEthicsIntellectual Property Rights and Ethics; A Cambridge Educational Production (14 min)
These selections are Web based tutorials
- Copyright 101 from Brigham Young UniversityThis tutorial is designed to educate our faculty, staff, and students about copyright law and how it relates to them.
- Patents, Trademarks & Copyright from the National Paralegal CollegeA very useful and detailed tutorial with excellent examples.
- University of Texas Copyright Crash CourseThis Copyright Crash Course Online Tutorial will help you learn about how ownership of copyrighted works, what is fair use and when and how to get permission to use someone else's materials.
Library Publications
- Know Your Copy Rights - Copy Rights and TeachingIn your teaching, you confront questions about how to legally share articles, video, music, images, and other protected intellectual property with your students. This short handout discusses these issues and provides practical advise and suggestions.
- TEACH Act ChecklistA helpful checklist to aid in determining if your usage of materials conform to the TEACH Act.
Adapted from: Copyright Crash Course by Georgia Harper. http://doi.org/10.15781/T24J09X6J - Know Your Copy Rights - What You Can DoOften you can use works in your teaching without permission or fee. This chart highlights some of those situations. Additionally this flyer provides and easy to use fair use check list.