Get Full Text!
In Scopus, you'll find a Get Full Text! button or text link for each result. Clicking it will help you get to the full text.
If the library has a subscription to the resource you need, you'll usually get a link directly to the article. Occasionally you'll only get a link directly to the journal; when that happens, it's helpful to search for the article title on the journal's page.
If the library does not have an online subscription to what you need, you'll get a big green button you can use to place an Interlibrary Loan request. Click the button, log in with your S&T username and password, and you'll find the request form filled out for you.
Submit your request and you should have your article within a few business days. When it arrives you'll get an email with a link to log in to the Interlibrary Loan system. After you log in, your article will be in the "Electronically Received Articles" section.
Important Note About ASEE Results
For this assignment, many students will find useful results from the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). Unfortunately, our system doesn't play well with them.
If you want an ASEE article, the best way to go about getting it is by:
- copying the article title from Scopus
- going to www.asee.org
- searching for the title there.
This should take you to a free PDF from ASEE.
Databases
- Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of research literature in the sciences, engineering, and social sciences. It is Elsevier's counterpart to Clarivate's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a larger number of journals and proceedings.
- ACI International Abstracts (American Concrete Institute)This database provides searchable abstracts to many of the American Concrete Institute's publications, dating as far back as 1929, as well as information about publications of partner organizations. There is an option on the search page to limit your search to just ACI publications.
- ASCE Digital Library
This database includes the full text of conference papers from the American Society of Civil Engineers beginning in 1998 and all the ASCE journals and periodicals published since 1995.
