Primary Sources - Newspapers
Always keep in mind that primary sources use the language of the time. Words may be spelled differently, and terms used to refer to events or people may vary from modern usage. Also, use the limits in the database to narrow your search to a particular date or period of time to remove later articles on the subject from your search results.
- New York Times, Historical (1851-2020)
Full text coverage of the entire New York Times newspaper from 1851-2020
- The Times (London) Archive (1785-1985)Search the digital edition of The Times (London) to find PDFs of articles and illustrations/photos.
- Missouri Digital Newspaper ProjectHistoric newspapers from the Missouri State Historical Society
Websites
- USC Shoah Foundation Visual History ArchiveRegister for a free account to view over 1,000 testimony videos from survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust
- United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumAvailable digital content includes oral histories, films, documents, and photographs
- Yad VashemProvides a variety of resources connected to the Holocaust, including extensive digital collections
- PMJ: The Persecution and Murder of the European Jews by Nazi Germany, 1933–1945Includes a few sample primary documents on various topics from the multi-volume PMJ series; the first three volumes are available for free download in English
- Imperial War MuseumsSearchable collections including art, photos, film, audio, and more from British museums covering conflicts from World War I to the present
- Anne Frank HouseProvides information about the story of Anne Frank
- Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and MuseumSee the "History" page for an overview of the camp's history; the "Museum" page includes information about historical collections, a photo gallery, and a database of prisoner names
- St. Louis Kaplan Feldman Holocaust MuseumA museum highlighting the history and lessons of the Holocaust through the voices of St. Louis survivors
- Voices of the HolocaustContains audio recordings and English language transcripts from the earliest known oral histories of the Holocaust, recorded in 1946
- Jewish Virtual LibraryProvides information on Jewish history and culture, including extensive materials on the Holocaust
- Holocaust Geographies CollaborativeA research group that uses mapping and geography to examine spaces and places of the Holocaust
- EHRI Geospatial RepositoryA collection of geospatial datasets relating to the Holocaust
Primary and Secondary Sources - Books
Use the search box to find books in our library and the other libraries in the UM system. You can request that books from the other libraries be sent to Missouri S&T for check out by using the "Place Request" link.
Search for specific books by author or title, or do a keyword search to find books on a particular topic. Remember to put phrases in quotation marks (for example, "concentration camp") to search the words together.
Search tip for primary sources: To find primary sources in books, try adding one of the following to your keywords: diaries, personal narratives, documents, sources, oral history, interviews, speeches, and correspondence.
Find even more books by searching MOBIUS, a shared catalog that includes materials from college and university libraries across Missouri. Use the "Place a Hold" button to request books from another library.
Books requested from other UM System libraries generally are available to check out in 3-5 business days. MOBIUS books may take longer to arrive.
Secondary Sources - Articles
- Academic Search PremierCovers many subject areas, including history, with full-text articles available for some publications. It also includes some primary sources, such as historical articles from Time magazine (back to 1923).
- JSTORProvides access to PDFs of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines, including history and Jewish studies. Articles from the most recent 3-5 years are generally not accessible.
- Project MUSEProvides access to full-text journal articles for many subjects, including history
Primary and Secondary Sources - Films
- Films on DemandA collection of documentary films on many different topics that also includes some archival film footage
Primary Sources - Films
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
Provides the testimonies of people with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistors, and liberators. Instructions for viewing: Visit this website first to create an account before searching the archive to find recordings. Then submit a request to view any individual testimony. All of the videos should be available for viewing once access is approved by email.
