Content Warning
Content Warning: Some materials in this collection contain racist and harmful language and document historical traumas associated with racism. The Missouri S&T Archives and State Historical Society of Missouri do not endorse such views expressed in this collection.
How to Use
All images in this subject guide can be viewed at a larger size by right-clicking on them, then selecting 'Open Image in New Tab.'
This is a living document. If you know of other material that should be added to this libguide, please email the archives .
Archives Month Talks
Stay Tuned!
Video and transcripts of our events will appear here a few days after the events happen.
Documents and Books
-
Missouri S&T’s Black history: challenges overcomeBrief article on the Black history of the Missouri S&T campus
-
Missouri Miner 1950Various opinion pieces and letters to the editor about the arrival of George Horne and Elmer Bell, Jr. in Rolla.
-
History of Alpha Phi Alpha
-
Epsilon Psi 1965 : a history of a chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity
by
Call Number: LJ145.E67 G68 2022ISBN: 9798218077099Publication Date: 2022-10-22"The rich history of one of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity's most decorated chapters; Epsilon Psi. Chartered in the mid 1960's, the chapter was birthed through obstacles of racial discrimination and many other challenges. Through hard word and dedicated leadership, the chapter now stands on a legacy of greatness. This is the story of Epsilon Psi chapter's history and legacy."
Audio-Visual Resources
-
The Rolla Story: Epsilon Psi chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity IncorporatedA video history of the Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity, one of the Divine Nine, on the UMR/S&T campus.
-
Missouri S&T's pioneer of integrationIn the summer of 1950, George Horne and another student won a court case that allowed them to be the first African-American's to enroll at Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy, the forerunner of Missouri S&T. Watch as Horne describes the reception he received from administrators, classmates and the Rolla community.
Photo Gallery for "Desegregation in the Miner Nation"
George Everett Horne
Entered the Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy in 1950. Went on to be a Fire Marshall in St. Louis.
George Horne honored by S&T Chancellor
Elmer Bell, Jr.
Elmer Bell, Jr. joined with George Horne and Gus Ridgel in the lawsuit to allow Black students to attend the University of Missouri schools.
Elmer Bell, Jr.
Silas Garrett, Physics '50
First Black graduate of MSM; BS-Physics, '56
Slias Garrett Jr.: The U.S. Army Engineer and Former Pilot Who Knew the Arch Needed a light
The untold story of the man behind the Arch's "guiding light"
Lelia (Thompson) Flagg
First Black Engineering and first Black woman graduate of MSM. BS-Civil Engineering '60.
Lelia Thompson Flagg: Breaking barriers NOTE: The article says she was the first Black graduate; this is incorrect.
Missouri S&T’s Black history: challenges overcome
Dr. Harvest Collier
First Black professor at UMR, starting in 1982.
Harvest Collier to retire from S&T
Lloyd Gaines case
Admission of Lloyd Gaines to University of Missouri Law School was a watershed moment.
Honoring Lloyd Gaines: A Legacy of Courage and Change
Lloyd Gaines Believed to Be Killed After Winning Missouri Desegregation Case
Minority Engineering Program
The Minority Engineering Program was begun in 1974, in large part due to the efforts of Floyd Harris, '74.
Alpha Phi Alpha
First Black fraternity on UMR campus.
Reuben Lee Crenshaw, BS-EE, '63
Robert Lee Gray, BS-Chem, '62
Marvin Tartt Harris, BS-Civil Eng, '63, MS-Civil Eng, '69
William T, Harris Jr, BS-Mech Eng, '62
Nathaniel David Moore, BS-Mech Eng, '63
Ronald Kenneth Riley, BS-Chem Eng, '63
He went on to get his JD from Cleveland State University.
Carlton Lee SCott, BS-Mech Eng, '63, MS-Mech Eng, '71
Curtis Rico Watson, BS-EE, '63
Research sites
-
Library of CongressMaterial at the Library of Congress related to film.
-
Moving Image Research Center - LOCResource guide to moving image materials held by the LOC. Includes the National Film Registry.
-
MISSOURI STATE ARCHIVES Missouri's African American HistoryMaterials held by the Missouri State Archives.
Missouri Encyclopedia articles
University Archivist
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
archives@mst.edu
Material from SHSMO
-
African American Experience Research Guide"The story of the African American experience in Missouri is told through the personal papers of individuals and families as well as the records of black organizations and churches. Civil War pensions shed light on the aftermath of the war, while photographs, letters, scrapbooks, writings, and newspapers provide insight into the daily life of African Americans living in the state."
-
Lecture series: African American Experience in MissouriContains links to a variety of videos related to the Black experience in Missouri.
-
Black History videos on DemandContains videos on a variety of topics, with some overlap with the Lecture series videos
-
Digitized papers related to Lucile Bluford and Lloyd GainesVarious digitized papers related to the legal cases brought by Lucile Bluford and Lloyd Gaines.