Top Databases
Use the library's databases to find articles from scholarly and trade journals, conference papers, and other publications. Depending on your research topic, other library databases may be relevant; please contact a librarian at library@mst.edu for more information.
- GeoRef
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 4 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Sources covered include journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Geology of North America is covered from 1666 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present. This database is produced by the American Geosciences Institute.
- Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of research literature in the sciences, engineering, and social sciences. It is Elsevier's counterpart to Clarivate's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a larger number of journals and proceedings.
- OnePetro
OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Articles and conference papers from professional societies and other organizations that serve the industry are available for download.
- GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld provides electronic access to the journals of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, American Geological Institute, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society of America, Society for Sedimentary Geology, and Society of Exploration Geophysicists.
- Compendex Backfile
This resource includes citations with abstracts for engineering and technical literature worldwide from 1884-1969.
- USGS Publications WarehouseAccess to over 100,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
Books, Articles, and More
Search many sources (online journals, databases, and the library collection) to discover articles, books, and more. Because it does not cover all of the library's resources, searching individual databases may be necessary for a more complete search.
