Course Text
Required Reading
What They Fought for, 1861-1865ON LIBRARY RESERVE
Early Encounters with Native Peoples
Primary Sources - American Newspapers
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1900
Search and browse thousands of American newspapers published from 1690 to 1900 that chronicle the evolution of American culture and daily life.
- New York Times, Historical (1851-2020)Full text coverage of the entire New York Times Newspaper from 1851-2013.
Primary Sources - British Newspapers
- The Times (London) Archive (1785-1985)Search the Times of London to retrieve full images of either a specific article or a complete page; articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos are all searchable.
- The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)This database includes the complete full text coverage of The Guardian from 1821-2003 and The Observer from 1791-2003.
Primary Sources - Books
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Early English Books Online collects early printed works in English and works printed in England. It covers the years 1400 to 1700.
Secondary Sources
Search Tip: When searching Academic Search Premier, click on the "Access Options" dropdown and use "Full Text via LibKey Link" to see whether articles not included in the database are available in full text from other library sources. You can also use interlibrary loan to request articles the Missouri S&T library doesn't own from other libraries. Average turnaround time for most requested articles is 1 to 2 business days.
- Academic Search PremierThis database covers many topics, including history, with information about a large number of articles and the full text available for many of them.
- JSTORJSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible.
Image Search
- National Portrait GallerySearch the Smithsonian's collection of portraits of Americans
Other Sources
- Voyages: Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseContains information on more than 35,000 slave voyages to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries, including estimates of the volume of slaves traded
