Required Reading
1776PRINT COPY ON LIBRARY RESERVE
The American RevolutionPRINT COPY ON LIBRARY RESERVE
Epic Journeys of FreedomPRINT COPY ON LIBRARY RESERVE
Revolutionary MothersPRINT COPY ON LIBRARY RESERVE
Suggested Reading
Faces of RevolutionPRINT COPY ON LIBRARY RESERVE
The Faiths of Our FathersPRINT COPY ON LIBRARY RESERVE
Search for Primary Sources
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1900
Search and browse thousands of American newspapers published from 1690 to 1900 that chronicle the evolution of American culture and daily life.
Search for Secondary Sources
Search Tip: In Academic Search Premier, click on the "Full Text@MS&T" button to see whether articles not included in the database are available elsewhere. You can also use interlibrary loan to request articles our library doesn't own from other libraries. Average turnaround time for most requested articles is 1 to 2 business days.
- Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of journals, many of them peer-reviewed titles.
- JSTORA scholarly collection of journals in various disciplines, including history
Websites
- American JourneysMore than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration
- American ArchivesA collection of thousands of pamphlets, booklets, and newspaper articles from the years 1774-1776
- Founders OnlineLetters and other documents written by George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison
- Loyalists (Library and Archives Canada)A collection of sources relating to the United Empire Loyalists who settled in Canada after the American Revolution (1775-1783)
- Papers of Benjamin FranklinThe full text of all 37 published volumes of The Papers of Benjamin Franklin (up to the year 1782)
- Thomas Jefferson Papers, 1606 to 1827Approximately 27,000 items (mostly letters) that document Jefferson's lifetime
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsAll collections of digital material held by the Library of Congress
Search for Books
To find books in our library and other UM System libraries, search here. Use the "Place Request" link to get books from the other libraries.
Search for specific books by author or title, or do a keyword search to find books on a particular topic. Remember to put phrases in quotation marks ("Revolutionary War") to search the words together.
Find even more books by searching the MOBIUS catalog, which contains the holdings of over 60 Missouri libraries. Use the "Request" button to have materials sent to our library.
Books generally take between 2 and 5 business days to arrive from another Missouri library. You will receive an email when they are available to check out.
Image Search
- National Portrait GallerySearch the Smithsonian's collection of portraits of Americans
- Pictures of the Revolutionary WarSelected pictures and portraits from the National Archives
