Books
Searching the S&T Library catalog using the search term "World War, 1914-1918" will bring up a plethora of resources. You may need to log in to use electronic resources.
- 1917 "Rollamo"1917 year book.
- 1918 "Rollamo"The "Liberty" edition of the "Rollamo" from 1918. Contains extensive information on MSM's involvement with the war effort.
- 1919 "Rollamo""Victory" edition of the "Rollamo" from 1919.
- War Records BulletinJanuary 1920 Bulletin of the Missouri School of Mines. Contains summaries of the war records of faculty, alumni, and students in World War I. Also includes listing of students in the S. A. T. C. There is a much more complete, handwritten, listing in the S&T Archives.
- Censorship and Propaganda in World War I : A Comprehensive HistoryBook by Eberhard Demm
- Remembering World War I in AmericaBook by Kimberly J. Lamay Licursi
- The best World War I story I know : on the point in the Argonne September 26-October 16, 1918Book by Nimrod T. Frazer.
- War + Ink : New Perspectives on Ernest Hemingway's Early Life and WritingsBook by Steven Paul, Gail Sinclair, and Steven Trout
- Global flu and you : a history of influenzaBook by George Dehner
- America's forgotten pandemic : the influenza of 1918Book by Alfred W. Crosby
- Veiled warriors : allied nurses of the First World War / Christine E. HallettBook by Christine E. Hallett
- The poisonous cloud: chemical warfare in the First World WarBook by L. F. Haber
Music (from Internet Archives)
- Wikipedia list of World War I songsSongs written about, or popular during, World War I
- US Army Camp SongsSongs by Billy Murray and a male chorus
- The Last Long MileThe Last Long Mile (World War I Song) (1918) by Charles Hart and Shannon Four.
- My Dream of the Big ParadePeerless Quartet with Henry Burr and Billy Murray
- I've Got My Captain Working For Me NowAl Jolson song
- On the Road to CalaisAl Jolson song
- Tell that to the MarinesAl Jolson song
- Oh, How I Hate to Get Up in the MorningGeorge Cohen song, sung by Arthur Fields
- What Are You Going to Do to Help the BoysGeorge Cohen song, sung by the Peerless Quartette
- Its a Long, Long Way to TipperaryGeorge Cohen song, sung by American Quartet
- Over ThereSung by Arthur Fields
Films about World War I (availa ble online or in the Library)
- Charlie Chaplin filmsCharlie Chaplin DVDs in library, available for check out.
- Films On Demand (from library website)Log in with campus id and password, if asked.
- The Flu That Killed 50 MillionDocumentary about the 1918 influenza pandemic
Images Gallery
MSM Service Flag
Image from 1919 Rollamo shows the MSM service flag. 602 students, faculty, alumni and staff went to war or participated in the war effort at home. The nine gold stars represent the men killed.They were:
James Kennedy Black, '04; William Douglas Gray, '19; Martin Frady Bowles, '17; Klepel Yaro, '16; Joseph Bernard Fast, ex-'19; Earl McCann Edgar, '18; John Gray Galbraith, ex-'16; Norman Lloyd Ohnsorg, '10; Ralph Edward Triscuit Wilkins, ex-' 16
September 26, 1917 "Rolla Herald" front page
Letter from President Woodrow Wilson and article about deaths of Martin Bowles and Ralph Wilkins.
MSM Flag Pole
In 1917 the student body decided that there needed to be a flagpole on the MSM campus, with the flag flown regularly. A subscription was raised, and the 100 foot pole was erected. Students volunteered in teams of two to raise and lower the flag each day. Image from 1918 Rollamo.
Engineer Officers' Reserve Corps
List of MSM men stationed at Fort Riley. From 1917 Rollamo.
MSM men stationed at other bases.
From 1917 Rollamo
Original MSM Service Flag
Image from 1918 "Rollamo" showing original service flag created by students and list of names of students, faculty, and staff who had enlisted.
S. A. T. C.
The Student Army Training Corps was a short-lived organization that preceded the R.O.T.C. on the MSM campus. Image from 1919 "Rollamo."
S. A. T. C. in formation
Image of students in formation, from 1919 "Rollamo."
"In Memoriam" page from 1919 "Rollamo"
List of students killed in the war. Includes their date of death, and cause.
Vocational Men
In 1919, MSM started a vocational training program for veterans. The program lasted until 1926. There is more information in the 1920 "Rollamo"
American Legion Post No. 76 Martin F. Bowles
The Rolla post of the American Legion was located on campus, and was named after Martin Bowles, a student killed in action. This image is from the 1920 "Rollamo"
Censored letter
All mail coming to the U.S. was censored during WWI. Note the censor stamp on the lower left side. Officials opened all mail to determine if they were a threat to security. Soldiers’ letters were opened and any details pertaining to troop movements, locations, battle plans, etc. were cut from the letter.
Signing of the Armistice. Rolla Herald 11/14/1918
President Woodrow Wilson announces the signing of the armistice which took place on November 11th. The article includes details of the agreement. “The Last to be Called,” includes the list of men drafted into the armed forces, but had just made it to training when the war ended.
Rolla Herald, November 21, 1918
Full text of the armistices agreement.
Rolla Herald, December 19, 1918
This page reports on local “Rolla boys at the front,” list those who were wounded or killed, and discuss local Red Cross efforts. President Wilson landed in France on December 13, 1918 where he met with government officials and army generals including John Pershing.
Smithsonian educational resource for "World War I: Lessons and Legacies"
- Educator's guideThis exhibition examines how the Great War accelerated major changes already underway in the lives of Americans — changes that continue to impact our world today.
Online Resources from SHSMO
- WWI Research GuideWar diaries, letters from home, photographs, newspaper articles, and the papers of organizations such as the Missouri Council of Defense can be found in the collections of the State Historical Society of Missouri. These records from those who participated in the war help us to better understand Missourians' experiences during World War One, both at home and overseas.
- Digital WWI Collections from SHSMOWorld War One affected the lives of millions of people. Many Americans who experienced the conflict firsthand as enlisted servicemen, military officers, or civilian workers with the Red Cross and YMCA kept diaries and wrote letters home with accounts of battles, bombing raids, and boredom. Civilians at home, eager to support the war effort, participated in federal and state government efforts to conserve resources, produced war material, and sold thousands of war bonds. The Society's manuscript collection contains diaries, letters, memoirs, scrapbooks, and papers of men and women who served stateside and overseas during World War One. The collection features firsthand accounts of battles, descriptions of bombing raids, and portraits of life on the home front from men and women from all walks of life, providing a snapshot of the war's impact on Americans.
- World War I and Spanish-American War VeteransMen from Cuba, Missouri who served during the Spanish-American War and World War I. From R0955 American Legion, Cuba Memorial Post No. 522 Collection – SHSMO.
*3 pages - Letter from Archie Raff to sister LouiseRaff writes to his sister from Fort Sill, Oklahoma where he is in the hospital due to measles. His entire unit was quarantine due to the outbreak and Raff spent the rest of the war at the quarantine camp and base hospital.
Letter from R0124 Raff Family Papers – SHSMO.
*Four pages to the letter - Poems written by John HumeBe Damned
Poem written by John R. Hume while serving in Soisson, France in July 1918. Hume served as a surgeon with the U.S. Army with the 7th Infantry Regiment. He was captain with a field hospital detachment that landed in France in September 1917.
The Soldier’s Grave and Sick Soldier in France
Poem written by John R. Hume while serving in France in 1918. Hume served as a surgeon with the U.S. Army with the 7th Infantry Regiment. He was captain with a field hospital detachment that landed in France in September 1917.
In the Trenches, The Battle Rim, Swat ‘im Once, and Old France
Poem written by John R. Hume while serving in France in 1918. Hume served as a surgeon with the U.S. Army with the 7th Infantry Regiment. He was captain with a field hospital detachment that landed in France in September 1917.
Them Huns
Poem written by John R. Hume while serving in Fontaine Notre Dame, Cambria Sector in November 1917. Hume served as a surgeon with the U.S. Army with the 7th Infantry Regiment. He was captain with a field hospital detachment that landed in France in September 1917.
For Freedom and France
Poem written by John R. Hume during the Battle of Château Thierry that was fought from May to July 1918. Hume served as a surgeon with the U.S. Army with the 7th Infantry Regiment. He was captain with a field hospital detachment that landed in France in September 1917.
Down in Soisson, An Old Toast, and Toast in Africa
Poem written by John R. Hume while serving in Soisson, France in July 1918. Hume served as a surgeon with the U.S. Army with the 7th Infantry Regiment. He was captain with a field hospital detachment that landed in France in September 1917.
Fell in Picardy
Poem written by John R. Hume after the Second Battle of Picardy/Battle of the Somme in 1918.
I Don’t Want no Gun
Poem written by John R. Hume on July 4, 1918 in St. Amand Montrond, France.
Poems from R0357 John Robert Hume – SHSMO.
University Archivist
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
archives@mst.edu
Articles from the Missouri Historical Review
- Popular Reaction to World War I in MissouriMissouri Historical Review article by Dr. L. O. Christensen
- Prelude to World War I in MissouriArticle by Dr. L. O. Christensen
- World War I in Missouri, Part IArticle by Dr. L. O. Christensen
- World War I in Missouri, Part IIArticle by Dr. L. O. Christensen
- Missourians in ServiceArticle by Harvey C. Clark
- The Lead Belt Riot and World War OneArticle by Christopher C. Gibbs
- Baptism by Fire: A Missourian in the Great WarArticle by Margaret Baker Graham
- The Papers of the Food Administration for Missouri, 1917-1919, in the National ArchivesArticle by William D. McCain
- Base Hospital 21 and the Great WarArticle by Donna Bingham Munger
- Missouri to Murmansk: Chasing the Bolsheviks with Major Edward E. MacMorland, March-July 1919Article by Benjamin D. Rhodes
- With Liberty and Justice for All? The Suppression of German-American Culture During World War IArticle by Chris Richardson
- Missouri and the War (6 articles)Series of six articles by Floyd C. Shoemaker. Second Article: http://digital.shsmo.org/cdm/ref/collection/mhr/id/2589
Third Article: http://digital.shsmo.org/cdm/ref/collection/mhr/id/2690
Fourth Article:http://digital.shsmo.org/cdm/ref/collection/mhr/id/8026
Fifth Article:http://digital.shsmo.org/cdm/ref/collection/mhr/id/2722
Sixth Article: http://digital.shsmo.org/cdm/ref/collection/mhr/id/6809 - Pershing After the Armistice, 1918-1919Article by Donald Smythe
- Provost Marshal General Crowder's Letter to the Committee on Military AffairsArticle by E. M. Violette