How to Use
All images in this subject guide can be viewed at a larger size by right-clicking on them, then selecting 'Open Image in New Tab.'
This is a living document. If you know of other material that should be added to this libguide, please email the archives.
Archives Month Talks
Stay Tuned!
Video and transcripts of our events will appear here a few days after the events happen.
- "The Widest Spectrum of Sound: 60 years of campus radio"Video of talk given by Dr. Jeff Schramm on Oct 10, 2023 on the history of KMSM/KMNR.
- "The Western Conservatory of Music of Rolla, Kansas City and Chicago: A Glimpse of Late 19th Century Music Education""Video of talk given by Dr. David Samson On Oct 17, 2023 on the Western Conservatory of Music and the Scott family.
Documents and Books
- Results from Missouri S&T catalogSearching the S&T Library catalog using the search terms "Missouri" and "Music" will bring up a plethora of resources. You may need to log in with a Missouri S&T ID to use electronic resources.
- John W. ScottArticles mentioning John W. Scott in the MSM Alumnus magazine
- S&T MusicWebpage for the Missouri S&T Music Department
- Music of MissouriWikipedia article on Missouri music.
- Fight Songs and Community SongsA collection of songs about our school and the local area, many written by Dr. Clair V. Mann who taught Civil Engineering at MSM in the 1920s-1940s
- "A Century of Music" by Dr. Clair V. MannThis collection of articles written in 1938 was collected by the Internet Archive.
- "57 Years of Musical Miners"A History of Bands at the University of Missouri-Rolla, 1908-1965.
- Constiitution of the Rolla Community Music ClubFrom 1929. MSM professor Clair V. Mann participated in man y of the music societies in Rolla, and created the constitution for this group. From Mann collection R:3/3/5, Box 19, folder 44
Audio-Visual Resources
- S&T alumni rock band play their golden alumni reunion: full concertMembers of the UMR Class of 1968
- Missouri S&T quadratic formula rapMaking the quadratic formula more memorable!
- Show Me the Music: Celebration of the Missouri BicentennialThis celebration of Missouri’s bicentennial features musicians from throughout Missouri. Shown on 9 PBS.
- Making Moonshine: Country Music—All You Need Is Love: A History of Popular MusicDocumentary on the establishment of country music and its bluegrass and folk roots. Featured: Jimmie Rodgers; Minnie Pearl; Ernest Tubb; Roy Acuff; Roy Rogers; Tex Ritter; Bill Anderson; Doug Kershaw; William Ivey.
- KMNR radio stationYou can listen live to the campus radio station KMNR on your computer/phone/ipad!
Photo Gallery for "On A Miner Note: Musical Miners and Missouri Sounds"
Western Conservatory of Music
The Western Conservatory of Music was founded in Rolla in 1882 by Prof. Douthat.In 1883 he handed over the reins to E. Homer Scott, along with Clara Sears.
Professor Robert Douthat
MSM professor, and founder of the Western Conservatory of Music.
Goettleman building
Second home to the Western Conservatory of Music in Rolla, MO.
Index to Goettlemann building photo.
E. Homer Scott
E. Homer Scott (1858-1925) became director of the Western Conservatory of Music in 1883 and was responsible for its multiple relocations. The family moved to Rolla in 1871. Homer, John, and Luella Scott were all musically inclined and were all associated with the Conservatory at various times.
Clara Sears
Vocal music instructor for the Western Conservatory of Music.
John Walter Scott (1870-1950)
John Walter Scott, Rolla druggist, formed and led the campus MSM ROTC band for many years. He's shown here in the middle, between E. Bishop and R. Phillips. He also formed the Rolla Town Band, symphony orchestra, and cornet band.
John W. Scott
Photo from 1888.
University of Missouri Professor Clair Mann
Professor Clair Mann (July 2, 1864–July 29, 1935) was a Civil Engineering instructor, education researcher, amateur historian, founder of the Phelps County Historical Society, AND a composer.
First Grand Concert by the Rolla Symphony Orchestra, October 19, 1908
In addition to his other endeavours, John Scott was a piano dealer.
Symphony Orchestra performing at the Shaw Opera House in the Grant Hotel in 1910, led by John W. Scott.
Image from SHSMO collection R0453
Rolla Town Band, under direction of John W. Scott.
On Pine Street, Rolla, MO.
St. James Marching Band
May 20, 1912, St. James, MO marching band.
St. James Band
Rolla High School Marching Band.
Event at Rolla High School.
Rolla High School band.
1940s.
Rolla High School "Hungry Seven."
Rolla High School 'Hungry Seven' band
Shown driving past Scott Drugs on Pine and 8th Streets, Rolla, MO
Rolla Music Club, 1947
Image from collection R:3/3/5 Clair V. Mann.
1909 MSM Orchestra
Image from 1909 Rollamo.
1909 Orchestra
1910 MSM Mandolin Club
Image from collection R:14/109/1 Benjamin Cody
MSM student Ben Cody and friend
Image from collection R:14/109/1 Benjamin Cody.
MSM Glee Club
Image from 1922 Rollamo.
1926 Orchestra
Image from 1926 Rollamo.
MSM ROTC Band under direction of John W. Scott.
1940s, outside Scott Drugs on 8th at Pine.
Article about invitation to the 1964 World's Fair for UMR ROTC Marching Band.
Image from Missouri Miner 1965 Mar 19 issue.
1964 World's Fair
The UMR-ROTC Band received an invitation to perform at the 1964 World's Fair in New York, and performed six concerts over 3 days April 30-May 2, 1965.
Missouri S&T Marching Band
Homecoming parade.
Celebration of Nations
Missouri S&T Marching Band.
Missosuri S&T ORchestra concert
Campus radio
KMSM, KMFA, KMNR... the campus radio station has had several different call signs. You can check them out at https://kmnr.org/
KMSM station schedule
The very first radio station schedule for KMSM. The station started Jan 2, 1964.
New radio station KMSM 1964
Image from 1964 Rollamo.
KMSM
Image from 1964 Rollamo.
Radio Station KMNR 2004
RadiOzarks
RadiOzark Enterprises, Inc. radio production company formed in the 1940s. Operated out of the KWTO radio station in Springfield, MO starting in 1943.
Research sites
- Recorded Sound Reference Center - LOCResource guide to recorded sound materials held by the LOC. Includes the National Jukebox.
- The American Folklife Center From their website: "The American Folklife Center was created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present American folklife" through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibitions, publications, and training. Designated by the U.S. Congress as the national center for folklife documentation and research, the American Folklife Center continues to collect and document living traditional culture, while preserving for the future its unparalleled collections in the state-of-the-art preservation facilities of the Library of Congress. The American Folklife Center Archive, established in the Library of Congress Music Division in 1928, is now one of the largest archives of ethnographic materials from the United States and around the world, encompassing millions of items of ethnographic and historical documentation recorded from the nineteenth century to the present. These collections, which include extensive audiovisual documentation of traditional arts, cultural expressions, and oral histories, offer researchers access to the songs, stories, and other creative expressions of people from diverse communities. "
University Archivist
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
archives@mst.edu
Material from SHSMO
- Historic MissouriansBiographies of several Missouri musicians including Josephine Baker, John William “Blind” Boone, Jane Froman , Coleman Hawkins, Scott Joplin, Arthur Marshall, Charlies Parker, and Tom Turpin.
- Research Guides:MusicContains links to music related articles, collections and more in the SHSMO holdings.
- Missouri Sheet Music CollectionsA listing of collections held by SHSMO that contain sheet music.