How to Use
All images in this subject guide can be viewed at a larger size by right-clicking on them, then selecting 'View Image.'
This is a living document. If you know of other campus community or Phelps County women who should be added to page 2 of this libguide, please email the archives.
Archives Month Talks
- Archives Month talk: "Selective Blindness: Ida Bengtson and Trachoma in Rolla" An Archives Month Zoom talk by Dr. Kathleen Sheppard recorded on 2021-10-5 for the Missouri S&T Archives and the State Historical Society of Missouri.
- Transcript - "Selective Blindness: Ida Bengtson and Trachoma in Rolla" Transcript automatically generated by Zoom. Edited by Debra Griffith
- Archives Month talk: "Ingrid Deich: The Sociology Professor who disappeared" An Archives Month Zoom talk by Dr. Petra DeWitt, recorded on 2021-10-12 for the Missouri S&T Archives and the State Historical Society of Missouri.
- Transcript - "Ingrid Deich - The Sociology Professor who Disappeared" Transcript automatically generated by Zoom. Edited by Debra Griffith.
- Archives Month talk - "Dr. Minnie Pinto: St. James' Female Dentist" An Archives Month Zoom talk by Kathleen Seale, recorded on 2021-10-19 for the Missouri S&T Archives and the State Historical Society of Missouri.
- Transcript - "Dr. Minnie Pinto: St. James' Female Dentist" Transcript automatically generated by Zoom. Edited by Debra Griffith.
- Archives Month talk - "The Challenge for Women at MSM, 1871-1930" An Archives Month Zoom talk by Dr. Larry Gragg, recorded on 2021-10-26 for the Missouri S&T Archives and the State Historical Society of Missouri. Zoom presentation ended early due to computer issue. Full presentation is available at https://www.facebook.com/MissouriSTArchives/videos/530984651658522
- Facebook version - Archives talk - "The Challenge for Women at MSM, 1871-1930" Talk by Dr. Larry Gragg. Zoom version cuts out early. Transcript is for the Zoom version, not the Facebook version.
- Transcript - "The Challenge for Women at MSM, 1871-1930" Transcript automatically generated by Zoom. Edited by Debra Griffith.
Documents and Books
Searching the S&T Library catalog using the search term "women inventors" will bring up a plethora of resources. You may need to log in to use electronic resources. Additional resources are listed below.
- "Women Graduates Have Proved Themselves "Special Breed"Article in 1966 Alumnus magazine summarizing the results of a career survey sent to all known living female graduates. Includes quotes from Jean Lloyd Arras, first female Electrical Engineering grad, and Eva Hirdler Greene.
- Sisters in Innovation 20 Women Inventors You Should KnowBlog post from website "A Mighty Girl"
- "Women Inventors in America"Article from Technology and Culture, Jul., 1981, Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jul., 1981), pp. 545-549
- The History of Women at MSM – UMR – Missouri S&TWebpage developed by the Curtis Laws Wilson Library.
- "Being Special: Women students at the Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy" Article by Prof. Lawrence Christensen, found in Missouri Historical Review Oct 1988 issue.
- Eva Endurance Hirdler Greene's autobiography, 1941 In the 1940s, Dr. Clair Mann asked Ms. Greene to write up a short autobiography. This PDF includes her write-up, correspondence, and notes from Dr. Mann.
Video
- "Black Female Inventors"Black Women Inventors have left their mark on society with their genius, dedicated and love.
- Youtube videos about female inventorsCAUTION: Some of the choices are more than a little condescending.
- Films On Demand - Hedy Lamarr, Extraordinary womenDocumentary about Ms. Lamarr, actor and inventor
- Films on Demand - Marie CurieDocumentary on life and work of Marie Curie.
- Films on Demand - Women First & ForemostDocumentary series hosted by Academy Award-winner Rita Moreno and Dee Wallace Stone, Women First & Foremost offers shining examples of how generations of women have achieved their deserved place at the forefront of history.
Other sources
- Society of Women Engineers"For more than seven decades, SWE has given women engineers a unique place and voice within the engineering industry. Our organization is centered around a passion for our members’ success and continues to evolve with the challenges and opportunities reflected in today’s exciting engineering and technology specialties."
- WikipediaLinks to wiki pages on women inventors
- LadyScience"Lady Science is a magazine for the history and popular culture of science. We publish a variety of voices and work on women and gender across the sciences. "
- Smithsonian magazineArticles about women and innovation.
Poster Gallery for "Picturing Women Inventors"
About This Poster Exhibiton
First poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors."
The Picturing Women Inventors poster series starts and ends with big ideas and questions. Each set of inventors answers the question asked at the top of the poster. Using an inquiry- based approach, we invite you to first explore the stories of women inventors who are often overlooked or forgotten altogether. While doing so, connect the inventors’ experiences to your own lives. Next, develop your own research question and undertake an investigation of the past to uncover the story of a woman inventor. Throughout this process, continue to think outwardly about the ways your classroom experiences could and should impact your community and the world around you.
Who Gets To Be An Inventor?
Second poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors."
When you hear the word “inventor” who comes to mind? We often imagine white men wearing lab coats working in laboratories, or wild-haired tinkerers in their garages. Many think of famous figures like Thomas Edison or Steve Jobs. In reality, inventors have always come from every segment of society. The stories of women inventors especially have often been overlooked, undervalued, and sometimes lost. The Picturing Women Inventors poster exhibition and this accompanying Educators’ Guide engage students by revealing these hidden inventors’ stories and, in the process, help redefine who gets to be an inventor.
How old do I have to be to invent?
Third poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors.
I have an idea...
Fourth poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors"
What skills do inventors need?
Fifth poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors"
Can my invention save a life?
Sixth poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors"
How can I help the environment?
Seventh poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors"
What inspires you?
Eighth poster from Smithsonian exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors"
Smithsonian educational resource for "Picturing Women Inventors"
- Educator's guide A guide to the poster exhibit "Picturing Women Inventors"
- Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation Women Inventors
Research sites
- NARALinks to National Archives materials on women inventors
University Archivist
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
archives@mst.edu
Material from SHSMO-Rolla Center
- Historic MissouriansSHSMO Manuscript collection