Skip to main content

About Scholars' Mine

Nurturing the Creation of Knowledge

Our Digital Showcase
SCHOLARS' MINE

Providing global access to digital scholarly and cultural resources created by our campus community


Scholars’ Mine is the institutional repository for the Missouri University of Science and Technology. Scholars' Mine provides access to the digital scholarly and cultural resources created by the university community. This includes faculty papers, research data, departmental publications, conference proceedings, graduate student works, and other scholarly material as well as campus cultural and historical works.

 Our vision is to be an active participant in the creation of new knowledge through integration with research and scholarship activities, and to create and support communities of researcher and scholars.

Scholars' Mine Mission Statement


In support of scholarship and research Scholars’ Mine the institutional repository of the Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) will:

  • Contribute to the advancement of knowledge and the betterment of society by acquiring, organizing, preserving and providing scholars and researchers global access to the research and cultural resources of our Missouri S&T.
  • Support cross-disciplinary collaboration and the multidisciplinary and organizational needs of Missouri S&T by building active communities of researchers and scholars and integrating Scholars’ Mine into the research and educational endeavors of the campus.
  • Support the professional development and research endeavors of our faculty and students by providing a rich and interactive environment where their research and academic achievements can be developed and made easily accessible to scholars and researchers worldwide.
  • Create global visibility for Missouri S&T by highlighting the institution’s research endeavors and culture.

Scholars' Mine Services


Services available from Scholars' Mine include:

  • INSTITUTIONAL REPOSITORY - Scholars' Mine provides global access to the digital scholarly and cultural resources created by our campus community. Our staff regularly monitor the most popular publication resources for new research and creative work by our own faculty. When a work is located it is added to the repository along with descriptive information which will enable it to be easily located by internet users. Our stall also ensures that all copyright and publishers licensing agreements are followed. Faculty may also submit their own work and our staff will review it and add descriptive information if needed. 
     
  • FACULTY PROFILES - An online presence is crucial for our faculty and researchers. Scholars' Mine Staff will create an online profile for each faculty author featuring their body of work along with a brief bio, their research interests and other information. Faculty have the option to monitor readership of their work, communicate with their readers and update their profiles.
     
  • ePUBLISHING - Scholars’ Mine enables faculty, students and others create and manage online journals, books and conference proceedings. Complete publication services are available including online submission, peer-review and editorial management. Scholars' Mine is an excellent alternative to expensive commercial publishers and our staff is available to assist you.
     
  • RESEARCH DATA HOSTING AND CURATION - Providing access to research data is increasing important. Scholars' Mine provides supports all file types and formats and has unlimited storage capacity. Our staff is available to help you define you research data needs and ensure that you data is secured for the future.
     

Scholars' Mine Content


The type of content housed in Scholars' Mine includes but is not limited to:

  • PUBLISHED RESEARCH & MORE - Missouri S&T faculty are researchers, teachers and leaders in their field and they work in a world where scholarship is increasingly digital. Scholars’ Mine both shares and increases the impact of the full range of faculty scholarship, from primary materials and research datasets to teaching tools and working papers. Faculty and the institution benefit when research gets noticed.
     
  • LIBRARY-CURATED FACULTY PROFILES - In a digital world, an online scholarly presence is crucial. With Scholars’ Mine the library supports faculty in building professional online reputations with library-curated, institutional-branded profiles.  Faculty can share anything from published articles to videos—and see the impact of their work using readership metrics and  who is following their work using the Author Dashboard.
     
  • RESEARCH DATA - Scholars’ Mine is a comprehensive hosted solution for storing, managing and sharing data. Scholars’ Mine provides unlimited storage, authorization and access-control tools, and supports all file types and formats.  Multiple display options and persistent URLs ensure discoverability and data curation now and into the future. 
     
  • SCHOLARLY JOURNALS, BOOKS AND CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS - Commercial publishers are reluctant to launch journals and publish books or conference proceedings in new or emerging fields. Scholars’ Mine enables faculty to spearhead new online open-access journals in their disciplines by providing a complete publication platform including submission, peer-review and editorial management.
     
  • STUDENT RESEARCH & CREATIVE WORKS - Student research is discovered, disseminated, and cited around the world, increasing the impact of the research for both the student and campus.
     
  • TEACHING & LEARNING RESOURCES - Teaching materials are an important, and often overlooked, component of faculty’s academic legacy. Scholars’ Mine ensures that legacy is preserved in an attractive, discoverable place.
  • Other Creative and Scholarly Materials - Video, still images, and audio are important means of creative expression. Scholars' Mine enhances the discovery, display and access to these types of materials.

Scholars' Mine Hosting Platform


We use Digital Commons and SelectedWorks by bepress (Berkeley Electronic Press) to provide our repository services. bepress was built by scholars to serve the needs of scholars and is the leading commercial provider of repository services to the academic community. 

  • Digital Commons provides our basic repository showcasing the breadth of scholarship produced by our faculty and students as well as other special collections. Digital Commons also provides the publishing platform necessary for journals, books and conference proceedings. Materials in Digital Commons are highly discoverable in Google, Google Scholar and other search engines. Also full-text materials in Digital Commons repositories are indexed in the Digital Commons Network, a free discovery tool used by researchers worldwide.
     
  • SelectedWorks hosts our faculty profiles and is fully integrated with Digital Commons. Selected Works provides our faculty with online scholarly identities, enabling them to share scholarship and measure their research impact.     

Scholars' Mine Backup Strategy


bepress employees a multi-tiered disaster recovery plan utilizing fail-over servers and regular on-site and off-site backups. We receive quarterly backup files from bepress which we house in our own secure storage.  Additionally, we participate in bepress Archive. With bepress archive we maintain an Amazon S3 account. bepress updates in real- time a cloned copy of our bepress implementation maintained in our Amazon S3 account. This service includes automatic checksums and data integrity checks and we have complete control of the content and its administration.

See Safeguarding Your Content with Digital Commons for detailed information.

Loading