Scholars' Mine

Benefits for Faculty

Increases the impact of your scholarship

• Increases the visibility and access to your work globally
• Improves rankings for your articles in Google and Google Scholar
• Allows readers to follow your research and learn about newly added work
• Provides opportunities for collaboration
• Makes articles published in multiple journals available in a single location

Showcases your scholarship with customizable profiles

• Visual interface and multimedia files encourage readers to explore your research
• Provides customizable research interests and areas of expertise
• You can Share your unique background and accomplishments

Manage and preserve you work

• Aggregates all your work in a single location
• Enables you to comply with copyright law and publisher policy
• Ensures the preservation, readability and access to your work into the future
• Gives you the ability to manage contact list of those interested in your research 

Increase the availability of hard-to-access scholarship

• Enables you to share hard-to-access scholarship such as conference presentations, exhibits, posters and performances
• Increases access to unpublished works such as technical reports, white papers and other unpublished materials

Measure your readership

• Provides robust readership metrics with monthly author reports
• Author dashboards present readership statistics graphically and in greater detail
• Enables the Sharing of metrics for tenure review and promotion

Professional Curation

• Library services to make you scholarship discoverable and secure now, tomorrow, and into the future
  • Metadata management
  • Copyright and licensing support 
  • Research data management support
  • Access control 
  • Persistent URLs
  • Digital Publication Services
• Fully hosted: no IT resources or support required
• Secure cloud storage with multiple back-ups and quarterly archives

Benefits for the Student

Increases the impact of your scholarship

• Makes research available to potential employers
• Gives you access to the past works of other students
• Provides a stable online home for your work, even after you graduate
• Increases the visibility and access to your work globally
• Provides opportunities for collaboration

Publication opportunities

• Graduate students publish their thesis or dissertation in Scholars' Mine
• Graduate and undergraduate students can publish articles in digital journals hosted in Scholars' Mine
• Opportunities exist for the digital display of art and other works

Benefits for the Institution

Supports the institution's research mission

• Increases the exposure of our faculty's scholarship and promotes research opportunities globally
• Provides access to our research in a single location, offering opportunities for branding
• Promotes the accomplishments of our faculty and students to potential employers and students
• Enables collaboration and learning

Manage and preserve the scholarship of the institution

• Aggregates all the institutional research in a single location
• Enables the institution to comply with copyright law and publisher policy
• Ensures preservation, readability and access into the future

Increase the availability of hard-to-access scholarship

• Shares hard-to-access institutional scholarship such as conference presentations, exhibits and performances
• Increases accessibility of institutional technical reports, white papers and student research

Celebrates and preserves campus culture and life

• Serves as a platform for art exhibits and other student activities
• Provides access to yearbooks, alumni magazines and other collections of campus activities
• Hosts special collections of materials important to campus history and life