LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with full text articles provided by the Missouri S&T library when they are researching outside of the library's website. It is active on publisher websites, PubMed, and Wikipedia. It also works with one of the library's subscribed databases, Scopus.
When you install LibKey Nomad on your browser, you will be directed to the best available full text version of an article. You will be given the option to request the article from another library through interlibrary loan if the full text is not available.
LibKey Nomad is available for most major browsers, including Google Chrome, Safari, Firefox, and Edge. It does not require you to create a personal account, but you will be prompted to log in with your Missouri S&T username and password to access library-subscribed content.
To use LibKey Nomad:
- Download and install the Nomad extension on your browser.
- Select Missouri S&T from the drop-down list.
- The LibKey Nomad logo (a green flame) will appear at the top right of your browser. When you are on a webpage where Nomad is active, the LibKey Nomad button will appear.
Publisher websites
When browsing journal articles on compatible publisher sites, you will see a LibKey Nomad button in the lower right corner of the screen. The appearance of the button changes to indicate what level of access is available.
- Download PDF indicates that the Missouri S&T library provides access and will take you directly to the PDF.
- Article Link indicates that our library provides access and will take you to a page where you can find the article. You may be able to download the article from that page.
- Access Options indicates that Missouri S&T does not have direct online access to the article. Clicking the button will allow you to request the article from another library through interlibrary loan. Log in with your campus username and password. (You may have to create an interlibrary loan account before making a request.) LibKey Nomad will pre-fill the request form for you to submit. PDF copies of articles are generally available within 24-48 hours, and you'll receive an email when the article is available for download.
Scopus and SciFinder
Both Libkey Link and LibKey Nomad work with the library databases Scopus and SciFinder. If you have LibKey Nomad installed on your browser, you will see a button showing options for downloading a PDF, linking to an online article, or additional access options for interlibrary loan requests. You may also have an option to view the contents of the journal.
PubMed and Wikipedia
In Pubmed, LibKey Nomad shows options for downloading, linking to, or requesting articles. It will sometimes provide a link to the complete issue of the journal for browsing.
LibKey Nomad also provides access options for articles listed as references in Wikipedia. Next to the references you will see options for downloading, linking to, or requesting the article.
