Starting a research project can feel overwhelming, but the library has tools to make it easier. Whether you're writing a paper, working on a group assignment, or prepping for a class presentation, this page will help you get your footing.
Before you start searching, get familiar with the resources available through the library:
Library Databases
These are curated collections of articles, reports, and scholarly sources you won’t find through regular Google searches. You can access databases like Scopus, Business Source Premier, JSTOR, and many more through the Databases A–Z page.
LibGuides
These are subject-specific research guides created by your librarians to help you find the best sources for your discipline. Check out the full list of guides or explore course-specific pages.
Library Catalog
Search books, ebooks, journals, and media across campus and other Missouri libraries using the catalog.
Google Scholar
A great tool for finding academic sources, but many articles may be behind paywalls. Use Google Scholar to get free access to materials the library subscribes to.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Need something the library doesn’t have? Use ILL to request books or articles from other universities.
Don’t wait until you’re stuck, librarians are here to help with:
Choosing a topic
Finding credible sources
Navigating databases
Citing your sources
You can schedule a research consultation or use the Ask Us chat feature on the library website for quick questions.
Start by turning your topic into a research question. For example:
Too broad: “College athletics”
Focused: “How does playing college sports affect students' academic performance?”
A clear question helps guide your keywords and search approach.
Break your research question into 2–3 key concepts.
For example:
college athletes
academic performance
time management
You don’t need to search full sentences, just the core ideas.
Think of other words authors might use to talk about your topic. Create a quick table like this:
| Concept | Keywords & Synonyms |
| college athletes | student-athletes, NCAA, university sports |
| academic performance | grades, GPA, academic success |
| time management | scheduling, study habits, routines |
This will help you mix and match terms during your search.
AND = narrows your search by combining different concepts (e.g., student-athletes AND academic success)
OR = broadens your search by including synonyms (e.g., student-athletes OR college athletes)
NOT = excludes certain terms (e.g., college athletes NOT high school)
Most databases let you use these operators directly in the search box or through advanced search filters.
Pick tools based on your topic:
Library Databases (like Scopus) for peer-reviewed articles and academic sources
Google Scholar for broader searches, though not everything is freely available
Library Catalog for books, ebooks, and research guides
If you're not sure where to start, use your library’s Research Databases page or ask a librarian for recommendations.
Keep a list of useful search terms, databases you’ve tried, and sources you've found. This helps avoid repeating searches and makes citations easier later.