Scholars' Portal

Click the blue Add content button on the top right side of the screen:

Select Submission guide from the left menu and scroll through the list of most commonly used research output types. Click the type of your choice. 

Complete the form.

In this example we chose a journal article template. Note the if necessary you can use the Change template button in the upper right to change to a different template if necessary. 

After completing the form, select the status of the entry. You have two available options:

Entry in progress: You haven't finished working on the form and wish to continue later. If so, please select this option and press the Save button.

For approval: The form will be submitted and sent to the Library team for validation. Make sure to click the Save button. Your submission will be placed in a queue and will be reviewed by administrators as soon as possible.

Click the blue Add content button on the top right side of the screen:

Select Research output then Create from template.

Click the appropriate wizard and follow the prompts. You will be presented with a Metadata entry form for the research output type you selected using the wizard.

Complete the form.

In this example we chose a journal article template. Note the if necessary you can use the "Change template" button in the upper right to change to a different template if necessary. 

After completing the form, select the status of the entry. You have two available options:

Entry in progress: You haven't finished working on the form and wish to continue later. If so, please select this option and press the Save button.

For approval: The form will be submitted and sent to the Library team for validation. Make sure to click the Save button. Your submission will be placed in a queue and will be reviewed by administrators as soon as possible.

Many external applications such as Google Scholar, Endnote, and other reference management systems export data in file formats which can be imported in to Pure. You can follow the procedures below to import theses files into Pure.

Click the blue Add content button on the top right side of the screen:

Select Research output then Import from file.

There are three import options:

• OpenAIRE CERF XML format: OpenAIRE is an organization dedicated to openness and transparency and facilitating innovative ways for scholars to communicate and monitor research. 
• BIBTEX: BibTex is a file format which is used to describe and process lists of references, mostly in conjunction with LaTeX documents.
• RIS: RIS is an interchangeable, tagged format for expressing bibliographic citations, supported by a wide range of reference software and research databases such as Endnote, Reference Manager, Web of Science, Scopus, etc.

Select the file format of your choice. For our example the RIS format was chosen.

Either paste the RIS format which should be added into the "paste text" field or use the upload file/ drag function. Here the RIS format was pasted into the respective field.

Click Import to process the bibliographical information to Pure.

Pure wants to make sure that the correct information will be uploaded. The upload needs to be confirmed a second time. 

Clicking the Import and review button takes you to the publication record where you can review and correct all publication metadata.

In this example the faculty author was a contributor to a book chapter. So the template was change to book chapter and several changes we made to the entry. 

After completing the form, select the status of the entry. You have two available options:

Entry in progress: You haven't finished working on the form and wish to continue later. If so, please select this option and press the Save button.

For approval: The form will be submitted and sent to the Library team for validation. Make sure to click the Save button. Your submission will be placed in a queue and will be reviewed by administrators as soon as possible.

Pure automatically imports from a variety of external sources. For sources with ID search enabled, Pure will search for all your past publications. For sources with name search enabled, Pure will search for your publications in the last 2 years (730 days). New searches are performed every 7 day(s).  We have already have it enable system wide searching for all databases with which the library as an active contract and other free or open access sources. Here is a complete list:

• Scopus, an abstract and citation database, covers 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. It contains over 56 million records from peer-reviewed research literature in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and arts and humanities fields.
• EBSCOhost databases are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end users.
• Digital Commons is an institutional repository platform for journals, conference proceedings, open educational resources, and more. It is used by over 500 academic institutions, healthcare centers, public libraries, and research centers to manage and showcase their institution's research and scholarship.
• Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that helps scientist organize their research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. It holds more than 20 million records.
• Embase is a biomedical database with over 25 million indexed records and covers relevant and up-to-date biomedical research, from drugs and diseases from pre-clinical studies to critical toxicological information, in more than 7600 peer-reviewed journals, 2500 conferences and 300.000 conference abstracts.
• Contains more than 19 million records from MEDLINE and from medical scientific journals, dating back from 1948. PubMed contains links to full-texts, either from other databases or the journals' publishers. Content must be "E-pub ahead of print", before imported into Pure.
• CiNii is a bibliographic database service for material in Japanese academic libraries, especially focusing on Japanese works and English works published in Japan
• A system developed by publishers in 2000, to ease linking between references in fulltext documents in online scholarly literature, on the publishers' websites. Crossref uses DOI to transmit link information.
• arXiv is an Open Access database with full-text access and contains more than 650.000 e-prints. It covers the domains of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative economy and statistics.
• The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.1 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
• Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
• ORCID is a nonprofit organization helping create a world in which all who participate in research, scholarship and innovation are uniquely identified and connected to their contributions and affiliations, across disciplines, borders, and time. Enabling ORCID as an online import source will allow the import of research output meta data available on ORCID's public API, for more information please see the Release notes.
• SSRN is a worldwide collaboration of over 352,400 authors and more than 2.2 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research.
• The DPLP computer science bibliography is an online database containing open bibliographic information on more than 5 million computer science publications, including journals, proceedings and monographs.

Should you wish, you can setup your own automatic searching to import from external sources or you can conduct a manual search of the listed external sources. 

Click the blue Add content button on the top right side of the screen:

Select Submissions guide and scroll down to the import section. 

Here you can choose to setup an automatic search or to search one of the listed sources. 

When setting up an automatic search you will have the option to select the sources you wish to search and indicate if you wish to receive an email when a candidate is found. 

When searching an individual source you will be presented a search screen. Complete the necessary information and click the "Search" button. Here is an example of the Scopus search. 

A completed search will return results. Here is an example of a completed ORCiD search. 

From the search results you have the option to individually import or remove each research output. You will also receive notification of potential duplicates.